top of page

Role Reversal Fairytales

Updated: Mar 24, 2021

You know, I think the only thing I love more than fairytales, are fractured fairytales. Fairytales that creatively expound upon and play around with the original work. I love twisted fairytales where the writer takes the otherwise whimsical tale and spins it in a new and sometimes delightfully horrifying direction.

But just the other day, I thought of a new sort of twist people could put on fairytales~ role reversals. Taking a liking to this Idea, I came up with a few on the spot. I would like to share them with you now!


Rapunzel~

Rapunzel is, instead of a princess, a witch. The villains remain the same as far as roles, as these AU’s aren’t’ strictly just villainizing the princess who was originally a heroine but I wonder what sort of different look the story would take on if Rapunzel was a witch herself who was perhaps locked away by a Queen.


Red Riding Hood~

What if Red Riding Hood was the huntsman? Or perhaps there is a wolf with blood Red fur threatened by a bloodthirsty hunter? There’s just so many different ways you could spin this one and so many directions one could take!


Beauty and the Beast~

What is Belle was the beast? Living peacefully in the castle with the library? No prince coming to save her, just a female beast living peacefully in a castle until a garish hunter tries to interrupt her peaceful life.


The Little Mermaid~

I just want a story about a young sea witch who fears humans and their evil, water polluting ways. Perhaps she becomes a human to infiltrate them? Maybe her plans go awry when she meets the prince? Or perhaps the prince is the villain in this tale. The idea is vague but ripe with possibilities.


Goldilocks~

A heartwarming story about a bear cub with gilded fur who wonders her way into a cottage in the woods. There a family of three finds her and wishes to take care of her. Perhaps she is pursued by a hunter? I don’t know what sort of villain one would implement but I do like the beginning concept.


Rumpelstiltskin~

I want an action packed fantasy tale about a female sort of fae creature and her adventures with trying to con irresponsible nobles and royalty who wish to so flippant promise things they cannot fulfill. The Main character has to have a loveable obsession with shiny objects.


Sleeping Beauty~

Aurora is perhaps a fairy? This one is bit loose in my mind but Aurora playing the role of a dark fairy would be interesting. Perhaps Maleficent cursed her to be like her instead of cursing her with her famed long-term nap?


Hansel and Gretel~

A Magic working pair of siblings go on adventures. Maybe they take pity upon those abandoned in the forest, running a secret magic orphanage in the woods.


Snow White~

I want Snow White to be a dwarf. That is all I want. A cute little Dwarf princess on the run from a ring of twelve hunters sent after her. Why? I don’t know, I haven’t gotten that far in my head.

11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The 7 Deadly Writing Sins that ruin my Productivity

Good morning! Long time, no blog post? With that in mind, I think it’s either befitting or ironic that I am sharing a little list of comprised of some of the most common “Writing Sins” that totally me

Quick Writing Ideas

Quick Writing Ideas ~A fairytale but told in reverse. This could mean a many number of things. You could reverse the roles or the events, either works. It’s good practice and helps you move past figur

List of Character Development Questions

Describe... 1: their voice 2: their smile 3: their greatest achievement 4: their insecurities 5: their shortcomings 6: how they deal with grief 7: how they like to dress 8: what they like to eat 9: th

bottom of page